College Financing Information for Teens
College Financing Information For Teens provides information about paying for a postsecondary education. It explains college costs and describes practical steps middle and high school students can take to begin to prepare themselves for meeting future challenges. It discusses the process of choosing among different types of colleges and vocational schools, and describes the procedures involved in applying for and receiving financial aid. A separate section discusse the unique needs of college-bound athletes and students interested in nursing, health professions, teaching, or serving in the armed forces, Peace Corps, or AmeriCorps.
Motivation and Learning Strategies for College Success by
Finally... a different type of learning and study skills textbook! This one-of-a-kind text teaches college students how to become more self-directed learners. Students learn about human motivation and learning as they improve their study skills. A framework organized around six components related to academic success--motivation, methods of learning, time management, control of the physical and social environment, and performance--makes it easy for students to understand what they need to do to become more successful in the classroom. Study skills are treated as a serious academic course--theory and research to help learners understand what factors determine or influence successful learning are combined with effective, field-tested exercises, follow-up activities, and appendices that assist students in observing and changing their own behavior. Motivation and Learning Strategies for College Success: A Self-Management Approachdoes notoffer "recipes" for success, lists of "quick tips," or fancy design elements. Rather, the focus is on relevant information and carefully designed features to help students to identify the components of academic learning that contribute to high achievement, to master and practice effective learning and study strategies, and then to complete self-management studies whereby they are taught a process for improving their academic behavior. *A model based on the six components students need to control to become successful learners is used to organize the content of the textbook. This organization makes it easier for students to understand what factors determine their academic success and what they need to do to change their behavior. *An overview of important research and theoryhelps students understand the reasons why they are asked to use different study and learning strategies. Students are more motivated to learn when theirstudy skills course is conducted as a real academic course, not as a remedial experience. *Exercises in each chapterhelp students observe and evaluate their own learning and study skills, and detailed follow-up activities at the end of each chapterengage students in applying the content to their own academic learning. The purpose of these experiences is to encourage self-observation and evaluation--an important first step in changing behavior. *Beginning in Chapter 3, the first follow-up activity identifies a topic to include in a self-management study. The appendices provide information on how to conduct such a study, along with three examples of self-management studies conducted by students. *Student Reflectionssections in each chapter allow students to read about the experiences of others students as they attempt to change their behavior and become more successful in college. *Reviews of specific procedures for using each learning strategyare provided at the end of each chapter. This aid is particularly useful for students when they need a quick review of how to implement a given strategy. *Key Pointsat the end of each chapter highlight the important ideas. *A Glossaryof key terms is provided; key terms are presented in bold the first time they appear in the text. *A separate Instructor's Manualincludes lecture notes, exercises, and test questions. In addition, it provides information to help students develop a motivation and learning strategies portfolio and conduct a self-management study to improve their learning and study skills.
College Knowledge by
The book is based on an extensive three-year project sponsored by the Association of American Universities in partnership with The Pew Charitable Trusts. This landmark research identified what it takes to succeed in entry-level university courses.
The Complete Guide to College Success
The Complete Guide to College Success adopts a conversational style that engages the student in dialogue with its question and answer format, all the while providing useful, hands-on suggestions that translate into a positive college experience.
Writing a Successful Research Paper
This brief, practical guide offers a clear and comprehensive strategy for conceptualizing, approaching, and executing the task of writing a research paper in the humanities and social sciences. In addition, it provides: a critical and process-oriented approach to the tasks of topic selection, formulation of the research question, thesis development, and argumentation. judiciously selected examples drawn from a broad range of disciplines. concise treatment of the aims, methods, and conventions of scholarly research, including the opportunities and pitfalls of Internet use. a wealth of conceptual and organizational tools, and more.
Here are some steps to get you started on your research:
Here are some databases that can get you started on background information for your topic:
Full-text, fact-checked reports on important global news issues written by professional journalists.
Once you have your topic, these databases can help you find more specific information:
With access to full-text articles in journals from many disciplines, this is an excellent resource for any subject.
A trusted archive of full-text scholarly journals across all disciplines, in addition to primary source and image collections and thousands of research reports.
