Research Guides: Elementary Education: Articles & More

Steen Library FAQs

Email Me

Contact:

R. W. Steen Library, Office #202B
P.O. Box 13055, SFA Station
Nacogdoches, TX 75962-3055

936-468-1861

Subjects: Dance, Education, Fine Arts, Human Sciences, Human Services, Kinesiology & Health Science, Music, Theatre

The History of American Academic Education
Traces the history of education in the U.S.--from European influences to the common school to the present day.

Academic Search Complete
With access to full-text articles in journals from many disciplines, this is an excellent resource for any subject.
ERIC (Institute of Education Sciences)
- This link opens in a new window
An excellent resource for abstracts and full-text articles and documents in all aspects of education. Access provided by the IES.
PsycINFO
Access to abstracts and full-text articles and books in all areas of psychology.
Professional Development Collection
Provides full-text articles from education journals.
Teacher Reference Center
Provides abstracts on subjects for teachers, including assessment, best practices, continuing education, pedagogical research, curriculum development, and more.
Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
Searches scholarly and professional literature across many disciplines and sources, including articles, books, court documents, and much more.

Films On Demand Master Academic Video Package
There are lots of videos and segments dealing with education, including ones on educational theories and theorists. There are options to share them and add them.
Academic Video Online
- This link opens in a new window
Access over 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Gale In Context: Elementary
- This link opens in a new window
Find digital resources suitable for elementary school students to supplement and enhance in-person and online instruction.
Primary Search
Provides full-text articles, with Lexile indicators, for popular magazines used for elementary school research.
TeachingBooks
- This link opens in a new window
Search an ever-growing, vetted collection of instructional materials about children's and young adult books and authors.
National Geographic Kids
- This link opens in a new window
Engage kids and young students to broaden their educational horizons with reputable, special, authoritative, and age-appropriate digital content that brings them the world in a way they have never seen before.

Education Week
Try this NEW resource! Covering K-12 education since 1981 and providing news, analysis, and investigative journalism. Type in a topic and see what happens!
Chronicle of Higher Education
A weekly news and job-information source for university faculty, administrators, and students.
CQ Researcher
Full-text, fact-checked reports on important global news issues written by professional journalists.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
- This link opens in a new window
Utilizes many different sources to provide information on multiple sides of controversial topics worldwide.
Teaching Channel Video Library
Teaching Channel is a multi-platform service delivering professional development videos for teachers over the Internet.