Research Guides: Government Documents: Federal Documents

Steen Library FAQs

Depository Information

Government Documents and maps are located on the 4th floor of Steen Library at Stephen F. Austin State University.

Stephen F. Austin has been a federal depository since 1965, and a Texas state depository since 1973. It serves U.S. Congressional District 1 in East Texas.

Steen Library is a selective depository, choosing to receive 35% of the federal publications available through the Federal Depository Library Program.

Materials support the university curriculum as well as general needs of students, staff, and the public.

Finding Federal Documents

Code of Federal Regulations
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government.

Congress.gov
The official website for U.S. federal legislative information that includes activities of Congress, status and text of bills, committee reports, and more.

Federal Register
Official daily publication for Rules, Proposed Rules, and Notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as Executive Orders and other Presidential Documents.

GovInfo
Free public access to official publications from all three branches of the U.S. Federal Government.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Research the working conditions, training and education, earnings and job outlook for hundreds of different occupations in the United States.

Public Papers of the Presidents
Digital format of the Presidential papers from Hoover through Obama--with the exception of F.D. Roosevelt.
Compilation of Presidential Documents
Consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents, which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary. Covers 1992--Present.
SAM.gov
The System for Award Management (SAM.gov) is an official website of the U.S. Government. You can search for entity registration and exclusion records; search for assistance listings (formerly CFDA.gov), wage determinations (formerly WDOL.gov), contract opportunities (formerly FBO.gov), and contract data reports (formerly part of FPDS.gov); and access publicly available award data via data extracts and system accounts.
Science.gov
Searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to access more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information.
USA.gov
This is the U. S. Government’s official web portal. It provides access to online government service, publication news and many more resources.

U.S. Code
The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States

U.S. Census Bureau
Access an abundance of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
U.S. Government Information. GPO Access
Contains full-text of the Congressional Record, Congressional Bills, Public laws, Federal Register, U.S. CODE, and more.
U.S. Government Manual
Official handbook of the federal government, Provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)
Online search that provides bibliographic records of U.S. Government information resources.

A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies
Find contact information for U.S. federal government departments and agencies including websites, emails, phone numbers, addresses, and more.
Congressional Directory
The Congressional Directory is the official directory of the U.S. Congress, prepared by the Joint Committee on Printing (JCP). Includes short biographies of each member of the Senate and House, committee memberships and terms of service, and room and telephone numbers for Members of Congress.

DATA.GOV
Find, download, and use datasets that have been generated by the Federal Government.
USA.gov: Data & Statistics about the U.S.
Access a variety of data and statistics on the U.S.
U.S. Census Bureau
Access an abundance of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
U.S. Census of Agriculture
The World Factbook
Provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Statistical Sources Research Guide
Steen Library's guide to online and print statistical sources.

U.S. INFORMATION ON OTHER COUNTRIES

U.S. Department of State Reports and Publications
Access U.S. State Department reports on many topics, including country reports on human rights, terrorism, and bilateral relations.
The World Factbook
Provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets
Organized by region and country or international organization. History, government and political conditions are discussed, as well as the economy, foreign relations and basic travel information. Also listed are principal U.S. officials and consulate officers.

Government Documents Guide

Steen Library FAQs

Depository Information

Finding Federal Documents

U.S. INFORMATION ON OTHER COUNTRIES

Help

Ralph W. Steen Library