Research Guides: Secondary Education: Articles & More

Steen Library FAQs

Email Me

Contact:

R. W. Steen Library, Office #202B
P.O. Box 13055, SFA Station
Nacogdoches, TX 75962-3055

936-468-1861

Subjects: Dance, Education, Fine Arts, Human Sciences, Human Services, Kinesiology & Health Science, Music, Theatre

Academic Search Complete
With access to full-text articles in journals from many disciplines, this is an excellent resource for any subject.
Gale Academic OneFile
- This link opens in a new window
Search millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sourcesincluding thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
ERIC (Institute of Education Sciences)
- This link opens in a new window
An excellent resource for abstracts and full-text articles and documents in all aspects of education. Access provided by the IES.
Professional Development Collection
Provides full-text articles from education journals.
PsycINFO
Access to abstracts and full-text articles and books in all areas of psychology.
Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
Searches scholarly/professional literature with sources including articles, books, etc.
Dissertations & Theses
Abstracts of and full-text access to dissertations and theses worldwide.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
- This link opens in a new window
Utilizes many different sources to provide information on multiple sides of controversial topics worldwide.
Gale OneFile: Educators Reference Complete
- This link opens in a new window
A broad education database that seeks to provide full text for titles in the ERIC database. Covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty.

Education Week
NEW RESOURCE covering k-12 education. This weekly provides current news and analysis.
Chronicle of Higher Education
A weekly news and job-information source for university faculty, administrators, and students.
CQ Researcher
Full-text, fact-checked reports on important global news issues written by professional journalists.
Teaching Channel Video Library
Teaching Channel is a multi-platform service delivering professional development videos for teachers over the Internet.

TeachingBooks
- This link opens in a new window
Search an ever-growing, vetted collection of instructional materials about children's and young adult books and authors.
Gale Interactive: Science
- This link opens in a new window
A virtual lab that gives students in middle and high school grades the power to see beyond static text and embrace learning outside of the classroom.
Gale In Context: Middle School
- This link opens in a new window
Search age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, and primary sources for middle school students.
Middle Search Plus
Middle Search Plus is a full-text database providing popular middle school magazines and reference books.
Gale In Context: High School
- This link opens in a new window
Offers cross-curricular content that supports national and state curriculum standards and reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.
Gale OneFile: High School Edition
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to age-appropriate, authoritative digital content for classroom assignments.