Research Guides: Economics & Finance: Articles & More

Steen Library FAQs

Director, R.W. Steen Library

Subjects: Business, Business & Management, Economics & Finance, English, Literature, & Creative Writing, Environmental Science, Forestry, Forestry & Agriculture, Humanities, Research Methods

Best Economics Databases

Business Source Complete
Full-text access to business articles and other content, including company profiles with SWOT analyses, industry profiles, market research, case studies, and more.
ValueLine
Provides information on industries, the stock market, and the economy.
Mergent Online
Access company financials, ratios, business segments, descriptions, sustainability, officers and directors.
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Continually updated mutual fund and stock database useful for investment information and data.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Access to full-text articles on all aspects of sports sciences, including medicine, business, kinesiology, and more.
FactSet
The FactSet Platform is used to analyze financial data from global equity and fixed income markets. Coverage includes data and information on ownership and private equity and venture capital investments.
To access FactSet:
1. Request a factset.net ID. NOTE: This may take 7-10 full U.S. business days
  Go to http://www.factset.com/survey/academic_id_request and fill in your first and last name and SFA email address
  Select SFA and your position from the dropdown menus
  Click the checkbox next to 'Usage Agreement' to accept the terms of use
  Click on the 'Submit' button
2. Once you have received your factset.net ID via email, go to https://my.factset.com to create your account
  Click on 'Create password for new account' on the right
  Type in your factset.net ID and click on the 'Continue' button
  You will be emailed a one-time passcode which you will need to set your permanent password
  Once logged in, the application will launch directly in your web browser
To access FactSet:
1. Request a factset.net ID. NOTE: This may take 7-10 full U.S. business days
  - Go to http://www.factset.com/survey/academic_id_request and fill in your first and last name and SFA email address
  - Select SFA and your position from the dropdown menus
  - Click the checkbox next to 'Usage Agreement' to accept the terms of use
  - Click on the 'Submit' button
2. Once you have received your factset.net ID via email, go to https://my.factset.com to create your account
  - Click on 'Create password for new account' on the right
  - Type in your factset.net ID and click on the 'Continue' button
  - You will be emailed a one-time passcode which you will need to set your permanent password
  - Once logged in, the application will launch directly in your web browser

Additional Database

IBISWorld
Looking for information about a US industry or a particular company? IBISWorld is a publisher of industry analysis, covering every segment of the economy. It’s a "one-stop shop" providing comprehensive business intelligence on over 1,300 U.S. industries.
Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory
Search literature related to starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, constructing economic models, investing for the future, researching rates, and more. Strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit bibliographic index.
TOPICsearch
A current events database exploring social, political & economic issues.
Gale Business: Insights
Comprehensive international business intelligence compiled into a logical, useable context.
Open Knowledge Repository
Search and access publications in the World Bank Group's Open Knowledge Repository.

Streaming Video

Films On Demand Master Academic Video Package
Contains some videos of interest to communication studies. At the top, go to "Menu" --> "Subject Index" and scroll down to browse the appropriate categories such as Business & Economics, Communication, English, Guidance & Counseling, Psychology, Sociology, or Technology & Society.
Academic Video Online
Access over 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Economics & Finance Guide

Steen Library FAQs

Director, R.W. Steen Library

Best Economics Databases

Additional Database

Streaming Video

Help

Ralph W. Steen Library