Home - FORS 4458 - Forest Resource Management - Research Guides at Stephen F. Austin State University

Steen Library FAQs

Subjects: Business, Business & Management, Economics & Finance, English, Literature, & Creative Writing, Environmental Science, Forestry, Forestry & Agriculture, Humanities, Research Methods

Web of Science
Search the world's leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
AGRICOLA
Search the National Agricultural Library's (NAL) database of 6 million records encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
Abstracts and full-text articles on mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, and many other topics in the study of wildlife and ecology.
Biological & Agricultural Index
Access to full-text articles on biology and agriculture.
TreeSearch
Provides access to full-text publications from the U.S. Forest Service.
SciTech Premium
Provides full-text publications on all aspects of science and technology.
JSTOR
A trusted archive of full-text scholarly journals across all disciplines, in addition to primary source and image collections and thousands of research reports.
ScienceDirect
An excellent resource for research in all disciplines.
Westlaw Campus Research
Provides full-text access to case law, state law, federal statutes, and more.

SORA: Searchable Ornithological Research Archive
Full-text historical archives of select ornithological journals.
Birds of the World Online
Detailed scientific information for all bird species nesting in the USA and Canada, including images and video galleries of behaviors, habitats, nests, eggs, and more.

Division of Mammals Collections
The Division of Mammals, National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution, houses and maintains the world's largest mammal collection with over 600,000 specimens. The taxonomic and geographic scope of the USNM (acronym derived from our former name United States National Museum) mammal collection spans the globe, with especially strong representation from North America, Central America, northern South America, Africa, and southeast Asia.

The Mammals of Texas by David J. Schmidly
Call Number: QL719.T4 S345 2004
The Mammals of Texas has been the standard reference since the first edition was authored by William B. Davis in 1947. New materials in this edition include lists of subspecies, a brief description of the conservation status of each species, and an expanded introductory section that discusses historical changes in Texas mammals and the history of mammalogy in Texas. The book also contains a thorough overview of the mammals of Texas, abundant photographs and drawings, distribution maps, physical descriptions, and life histories for 184 species of mammals.